After an entirely virtual affair in 2020 and a hybrid event in 2021, the 35th European Film Awards ceremony will take place as an in-person celebration of filmmaking on 10 December in Reykjavík, Iceland.

The three films leading this year’s nominations are Ruben Östlund’s Palme d’Or-winning satire Triangle of Sadness, Belgian director Lukas Dhont’s tender coming-of-ager Close, and Ali Abbasi’s harrowing Iranian noir Holy Spider, which have all scored four nominations each – including best film, director and screenwriter.

Zlatko Burić and Eden Dambrine have both received nominations for best actor for their roles in Triangle of Sadness and Close, joining Paul Mescal (Aftersun), Elliott Crosset Hove (Godland) and Pierfrancesco Favino (Nostalgia) in the best actor category.

European festival darlings Alcarràs (Carla Simón’s poignant Golden Bear winner) and Corsage (Marie Kreutzer’s “brilliant portrait of a woman on the brink”) are also in the running for the best European film award, with Kreutzer and Vicky Krieps also earning nominations for best director and actress. Joining Krieps in the best actress category are Zar Amir Ebrahimi (Holy Spider), Penélope Cruz (Parallel Mothers), Léa Seydoux (One Fine Morning), and Meltem Kaptan (Rabiye Kurnaz vs George W Bush).

Other acclaimed frontrunners nominated for best director include French filmmaker Alice Diop, whose extraordinary narrative feature debut Saint Omer won the Silver Lion at Venice, and Polish director Jerzy Skolimowski for his captivating love letter to the donkey, EO, which won the Jury Prize at Cannes.

Nominations in the best documentary category include Simon Lereng Wilmont’s deeply affecting A House Made of Splinters, Susanne Regina Meures’ Girl Gang, Mantas Kvedaravičius’ Mariupolis 2, Paweł Łoziński’s The Balcony Movie and Mark Cousins’ The March on Rome.

The great Palestinian auteur Elia Suleiman will be presented with the European Achievement in World Cinema Award for his outstanding and subversive and body of work. A Lifetime Achievement Award will be awarded to revered filmmaker and central figure of New German Cinema, Margarethe von Trotta, while Italian master Marco Bellocchio will be honoured for his groundbreaking work and receive the award for Innovative Storytelling, for his drama series Exterior Night.

See the full list of nominations below.

European Film
Holy Spider
Triangle of Sadness

European Documentary
A House Made of Splinders
Girl Gang
Mariupolis 2
The Balcony Movie
The March on Rome

European Director
Lukas Dhont (Close)
Marie Kreutzer (Corsage)
Jerzy Skolimowski (EO)
Ali Abbasi (Holy Spider)
Alice Diop (Saint Omer)
Ruben Östlund (Triangle of Sadness)

European Actress
Vicky Krieps (Corsage)
Zar Amir Ebrahimi (Holy Spider)
Léa Seydoux (One Fine Morning)
Penélope Cruz (Parallel Mothers)
Meltem Kaptan (Rabiye Kurnaz vs George W Bush)

European Actor
Paul Mescal (Aftersun)
Eden Dambrine (Close)
Elliott Crosset Hove (Godland)
Pierfrancesco Favino (Nostalgia)
Zlatko Burić (Triangle of Sadness)

European Screenwriter
Carla Simón & Arnau Vilaró (Alcarràs)
Kenneth Branagh (Belfast)
Lukas Dhont & Angelo Tijssens (Close)
Ali Abbasi & Afshin Kamran Bahrami (Holy Spider)
Ruben Östlund (Triangle of Sadness)

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI
107 Mothers directed by Peter Kerekes
Love According to Dalva directed by Emmanuelle Nicot
Other People directed by Aleksandra Terpińska
Pamfir directed by Dmytro Sukholytkyy-Sobchuk
Small Body directed by Laura Samani
Sonne directed by Kurdwin Ayub

To explore further, head to

The post Here are the nominees of the 35th European Film Awards appeared first on Little White Lies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy